The UK’s latest names on Russia’s sanctions list include Starmer, Blackford and Cameron. world News

Labor leader Sir Keir Starmer, SNP Westminster leader Ian Blackford and former prime minister David Cameron are among the latest UK figures to be added to Russia’s sanctions list.

The Foreign Ministry says 39 prominent Britons have been banned from entering Russia.

It said it was acting in response to Britain’s sanctions against Russia, which have been imposed in response to the war. Ukraine,

The list also includes Shadow Foreign Secretary David Lamy, Shadow Communities Secretary Lisa Nandy, Shadow International Trade Secretary Nick Thomas-Symonds, former Conservative Cabinet Minister Liam Fox and former NATO Secretary General George Robertson.

Putin issues nuclear war warning; Tension escalates in two more European countries – Ukraine Live Updates

The Russian government has also banned several Scottish politicians from the country in response to aid given to Ukraine after the invasion.

Holyrood’s Finance Secretary Kate Forbes, Constitution Secretary Angus Robertson and Ukraine’s Minister Neil Gray were all placed on the list.

Scottish Green co-leader – and Scottish government minister – Lorna Slater and her fellow Green MSP Ross Greer have also been added, as have Scottish Liberal Democrat leader Alex Cole-Hamilton.

Scotland’s First Minister and SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon was similarly approved earlier this year.

Others on the list include Sky News chief John Reilly, BBC presenter Hugh Edwards, ITV News political editor Robert Peston, TalkTV presenter Piers Morgan and The Sunday Times political editor Carolyn Wheeler.

Responding to the news on Twitter, Morgan said: “It wasn’t on my immediate holiday to-do list.”

Russia It says its “stop list” includes British politicians, businessmen and journalists who “contribute to London’s hostile course aimed at showing our country and its international isolation”.

See also  Three Bears Medal at the U23 World Championships

The Foreign Ministry hit out at “the UK government’s application of a sanctions mechanism against representatives of Russia’s socio-political circles, domestic economic operators and the media”.

It said “the UK’s damaging actions in imposing Russophobia, spreading misinformation about our country and supporting the Kyiv neo-Nazi regime will receive an adequate and decisive response from the Russian side”.

“The election in favor of confrontation is a conscious decision of the British political establishment, which bears all responsibility for the consequences.”