‘The Kings of the World’ won the Golden Shell in San Sebastian. news

king of the world

Colombian director Laura Mora’s second film king of the world 70. Won the Golden Shell Award for Best Film inth version of San Sebastian International Film Festival (SSIFF).

Scroll down for the full list of winners

A Colombian co-production with Luxembourg, France, Mexico and Norway, the film follows five street kids from Medellin, who venture into the countryside in search of the land one of them had inherited. Film Factory Entertainment handles the international sales. Mora’s debut was a 2017 Toronto and San Sebastian selection. kill jesus,

The award means another female director has won the top prize at a major ceremony in Berlin this year following Carla Simone’s win. alkarsi and Laura Poitras’ Golden Lion in Venice For All the Beauty and the Bloodshed, This is the third consecutive Golden Shell for a female director after Diya Kulumbegashvilik.beginning of in 2020 and Alina Grigorblue moon Last year.

The Silver Shell for Best Director among other awards at the main competition of SSIFF went to Genki Kawamura of Japan one hundred flowersWith the Special Jury Prize won by Marion Mathias Runners. Both were debut features.

The festival’s non-gender specific acting awards (first launched last year) went ex-aqua to two young actors: for Carla Quilez. la mater, experiencing an unwanted pregnancy as a teenager; and for Paul Kircher winter boy, directed by Christophe Honor√©, to play a teenager coping with the loss of his father. The Silver Shell for Best Supporting Performance went to the very young Renata Lerman substitute. She is the daughter of the film’s director Diego Lerman.

See also  Eagles CB Darius Slay reminds world he's 'still at an elite level' with two-pick performance vs Vikings

of china a woman It won the Best Screenplay Award for Dong Yun Zhou and director Wang Chao for his portrayal of a woman’s experience over several years in the late 20s.th Century China, while the award for Best Cinematography went to Manuel Abramovich, who was both DOP and Director pornomelancholiaAbout the daily life of a gay porn star,

The jury was led by Argentine producer Matias Mosterin after the original jury president, Glenn Close, had to cancel his visit shortly before the festival’s start due to a family emergency. These included French casting director and filmmaker Antoinette Boulat, Danish director and screenwriter Tee Lindeberg, Spanish writer and journalist Rosa Monteiro, Lesotho Lemohang filmmaker and visual artist Jeremiah Mosse, and Icelandic director and screenwriter Hlinur Palmasson.

The audience award went to Santiago Mitero‘s Venice-Premiered Court Room Drama Argentina 1985, The audience award for best European film went to Rodrigo Sorogoyan’s Cannes premiere selection beast,

The Kutxabank-New Directors Award for Best First or Second Film, which comes with 50,000 euros, to be shared between the director and the company that distributes the film in Spain, went to the French production. spare keys, directed by Jean Aslan and Paul Sentillon. Special mention given to Parth Saurabh’s Indian debut feature either side of the pond,

The closing film was by Neil Jordan marlowe, based on a new take on Raymond Chandler’s detective from the novel by John Banville, co-written by William Monahan and Jordan. The title role is played by Liam Neeson, who attended the finale with director and co-star Diane Kruger.

See also  Russo-Ukraine War: Warning on 'safety and security' of captured nuclear plant; More grain expected to leave Ukraine - Live | Russia

San Sebastian 2022 Winner

Golden Shell for Best Film
King of the World (col-lux-Fr-mex-nor) dir. Laura Moraes

special jury award
Runner (US-ger-fr) director. Marion Mathiasi

Silver Shell for Best Director
Genki Kawamura, one hundred flowers (chanting)

Silver Shell (X-Aqua) for Best Leading Performance
Carla Quilez, la mater (SP) and Paul Kircher, winter boy (FRA)

Silver Shell for Best Supporting Performance
Renata Lerman, substitute (Arg-Sp-It-Mex-Fr)

Jury Award for Best Screenplay
Dong Yun Zhou, Wang Chao, a woman (China)

Jury Award for Best Cinematography
Manuel Abramovich, pornomelancholia (Arg-Fr-Bra-Mex)

Kutxabank – New Directors Award
Jean Aslan, Paul Sentillon, spare keys (Father)
Special Mention: Parth Saurabh, either side of the pond (India)

horizontal award
tango suenos electric (Bel-fr-Costa Rica) dir. Valentina Maurelli

Zabaltegi-Tabaklera Award
godland (den-ice-fr-swee) dir. hilnur palmasan

nest award
Montana Azulu (Col) Director. Sofia Salinas, Juan David Bohorquez
Special mention: anabas (Switz) Director. benjamin goubett

San Sebastian Audience Award
Argentina 1985 (Arg-US) Director. santiago miter

San Sebastian Audience Award for European Films
beast (SP-Fr) Director. Rodrigo Sorogoyan

Irizar Basque Film Award
cork (sp) dir. Mikel Gurria
Special mention: for books and women i sing (sp) dir. maria elorza

TCM Youth Award
for books and women i sing (SP) dir. maria elorza

fipreci award
cork (sp) dir. Mikel Gurria

Agenda 2030 Euskadi Basque Country Award
Tori and Lokita (Bel-fr) dir. Jean-Pierre Darden, Luc Darden

Dunia Ayaso Award
Tobacco Barnes (SP-US) Director. rosio mesa
Special Mention: Yellow Roof (sp) dir. isabelle coixet