Austria stuns field to steal 3rd T20 World Cup 2024 Europe sub-regional qualifier

Austria stunned the field in the T20 World Cup Europe sub-regional qualifier in Finland, beating Guernsey and Norway to claim a spot in next year’s continental qualifier.

This means that Austrians are in the race for two places from the European region for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 to be held in the United States and the West Indies.

Austria defeated Guernsey in a crucial contest at Ventaya in the group stage to help advance to the final of the tournament.

Restricting the Channel Islanders to 139, the Austrians won the chase with only two wickets and two balls to spare to chase down the target of 140.

Iqbal Hossain (38 off 18 balls) and Razmal Shigiwal (42 off 29 balls) brought the top-order up the order, although a fall in the middle order saw the Austrian need 15 runs in the last two overs with No. 8 Abdullah Akbarjan and No. 8. .10 Umar Tariq at the crease.

Tariq (12* in six balls) showed calm in the final, moving David Hooper behind point for the upset win.

The final between Austria and Norway was shortened to 14 overs, and it was a difficult off-spin from Austria’s Amit Nathwani that set the tone.

Nathwani forced errant aerial shots to claim 3/14 in his three overs, Sahel Zadran (3/10) cleaned the tail and bowled Norway out for 77.

With an adjusted target of 77 sets per DLS count, Iqbal Hossain (66 off 36 balls) almost led a single charge chasing the target, only to be dismissed adversarially climactically when he fell one run short of the target. Went. Similarly, Vinay Ravi was Austria’s race to win the wide tournament.

See also  Longleng Celebrates World Day Against Trafficking | Morang Express

As Austria was handed the sub-regional trophy, French young gunman Gustave McCon was crowned Player of the Tournament, finishing with 377 runs in five innings at a strike rate of 164.62.

Who is included in the Europe Qualifiers Next Year?

The winners of the three sub-regional tournaments (Austria, Denmark and Italy) advance to the European finals next year, with the two allotted places for the 2024 tournament in the United States and the West Indies.

The trio join Jersey, Germany, as well as European sides that fail to qualify the 2024 through 2022 tournament: Ireland, the Netherlands and Scotland.

How did Denmark and Italy seal their continental qualifier spots?

Belgium sent shock waves through the first sub-regional qualifier when they claimed a 12-run victory over Denmark, although Freddy Kloker’s men found their footing in the knockout stages, before separating Spain and over Portugal. Won the final.

Star Danish all-rounder Nikolaj Legsgaard was always present during the tournament, leading both runs and wickets in the competition, adding nine wickets in an impressive 189-run campaign (SR 177, average 37.80).

Taking 2/11(4) in the final, Legsgaard fell to the first ball in Denmark’s chase, leaving the door ajar for Portugal, only to be struck by Taranjit Bharaj (58* in 43 balls) and Hamid Shah (off 37 balls). 44*) to slam it off.

Denmark claiming a sub-regional victory.

Denmark claiming a sub-regional victory.

Gareth Berg’s Italy were largely upset in their successful sub-regional campaign, undefeated in the group stage and sweeping in their final victory over the Isle of Man.

See also  Local biathlete training for the World University Games

Harry Manetti enjoyed his first assignment in the national colors to take the top three wickets in the final, finishing with 3/14(4) and catching Matthew Ansel’s side at 101/8. In reply, Marcus Campopiano’s 35*(21) ensured there was no Max comeback from him, with the Italians crossing the target of 102 in the 11th over.

06 June 22

Dev Awards: Digital Fan Engagement of the Year – Estonia

What is the format of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024?

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has been expanded to 20 teams, with qualification progressing through five regions from global qualifiers to qualifiers.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 Qualification Pathway

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Qualification Pathway

The top two teams in the European Regional Finals series, along with qualifiers from the East-Asia Pacific, Africa, Asia and Americas regions, will earn a place in the 2024 tournament, with 12 automatically qualifying teams:

  • USA and West Indies as hosts in 2024
  • Top eight teams in the Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia later this year
  • The next highest ranked teams in the MRF Tires ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings as of 14 November 2022

What’s next for T20 World Cup 2024 qualification?

Attention turns to Vanuatu for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, with the East Asia-Pacific Sub-Regional A qualifier pitting the hosts along with the Cook Islands, Fiji and Samoa.

All Pathway Events on the way to ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 All Available on Territories (other than Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan),

See also  DP World Tour: Sean Crocker beats Eddie Pepperell to win first title at Hero Open golf news